Home Quicken for Windows Investing (Windows)
Quicken Community is moving to Single Sign On! Starting 1/22/21, you'll sign in to the community with your Quicken ID. For more information: http://bit.ly/CommunitySSO

Deleting old CALLS

smfcpacfpsmfcpacfp Member
edited October 2018 in Investing (Windows)
I am currently using Quicken for Windows 2015, but I have been using a version of Quicken for many years.  I sell covered calls against my stock positions.  I seldom sell calls that don't expire within a few weeks.  Each call has a unique name (a unique security).  Thus over the years I have probably sold 1,000+ different calls.  Some go back many years.  Each year I close out Quicken.  However all of the old calls are still in my list of securities.  Is there a way to get rid of these so they don't clutter up my database of securities. 

Comments

• K.O. (Win-Premier)K.O. (Win-Premier) SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    I too deal with a lot of options.  I just hide them after their expiration date and haven't had a problem with that approach as of yet.
  • smfcpacfpsmfcpacfp Member
    edited November 2016

I too deal with a lot of options.  I just hide them after their expiration date and haven't had a problem with that approach as of yet.

I hide them also but having all of those securities in the database probably slows operations down.
  • smayer97smayer97 SuperUser, Mac Beta, Canada Beta ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2016

Just be aware of this file limitation, according to this article - up to 2000 trackable stocks 
    https://www.quicken.com/support/size-or-capacity-limitations-quicken-data-file
    "Note: Once the limit has been reached, there is no way to decrease the limit count..."

(If you find this reply helpful, please be sure to click "Like", so others will know, thanks.)
    Have Questions? Check out these FAQs:COMPLETE list of Product Ideas - Quicken for Mac to VOTE on

Object to Quicken's business model, using up 25% of your screen