Transferring shares between accounts

Unknown
Unknown Member
edited August 2019 in Investing (Windows)
IDEAS - When transferring shares between accounts - Quicken looses the YTD statistics. How can it be correct? or can it? Using 2017 QWin version - I tried transferring at both the shares and account levels. Both lose their YTD totals. Any thoughts as to what I can try to correct this issue

I found the problem and a kludgy way to fix it. the software is using the transaction date of the transfer rather then the date acquired. it retains the date acquired in the Holdings Screen but is using the wrong date for calculations......should be a very simple fix on your end. pita on my end as i now have to edit every transaction and change the transaction date to the acquired date. if you need help fixing your code, please let me know as I have been writing financial code for many years (self plug - sorry)

Comments

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2018
    Could you elaborate on "looses the YTD statistics"?

What I have observed is that if you transfer shares between accounts, Quicken Removes the shares from the source account and Adds them to the destination, preserving the purchase date(s) and price(s). The amount invested recorded is the value as of the transfer date. I think this is as it should be for both the capital gains and performance reporting to be correct.

OTOH if you separately Remove the shares from one account and Add them to the other, the amount invested is the value on the original purchase date, which I think makes the performance reporting wrong. 
    QWin Premier subscription
  • Greg_the_Geek
    Greg_the_Geek SuperUser, Windows Beta ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2017
    You can also cut and paste share transactions from one account to another without losing YTD statistics.
    Quicken Subscription HBRP - Windows 10
  • anyoldjoe
    anyoldjoe Member ✭✭
    edited February 2017