Home Quicken for Windows File Conversion and Backup (Windows)
Quicken Community is moving to Single Sign On! Starting 1/22/21, you'll sign in to the community with your Quicken ID. For more information: http://bit.ly/CommunitySSO

Transfer Data from a dead Laptop

UnknownUnknown Member
Hello,

I am a PC Technician, recently I received an email from a client said that his laptop just died on him, and he went out and bought a new laptop + new Quicken 2017. He would like to transfer his Quicken 2010 from his dead laptop onto a new one...

I know for sure that I can pull the hard drive out and attend to pull the Quicken data files from there and hope for the best, and also know that I can't just run Quicken on his dead laptop right?! However, I rarely deal client with Quicken, so I am wondering where can I find the Quicken data files and Is Quicken does auto back up as well?! since my client had no clue with Quicken had saved all his transactions up to date before the laptop wen dead on him!

His dead laptop is running on Win 10 and so does his new laptop

thank you!

Comments

• Greg_the_GeekGreg_the_Geek SuperUser, Windows Beta ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2018
    The normal location for Quicken data files in is the Quicken folder in Documents. You also need to install Quicken 2013 first and convert the data to that version. You can then go to 2017. See this article (https://www.quicken.com/support/how-and-when-use-intermediate-version-convert-older-versions-quicken) for more information.

Greg
    Quicken Subscription HBRP - Windows 10
  • splashersplasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    The Quicken data files are *.QDF and *.QDF-backup.

If the user was making routine backups to other media, you could use the last one using Quicken's Restore on the File menu.