Quicken works for me on mapped drives and the Cloud

Comments

• SherlockSherlock SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    lf you haven't already, you may want to review: https://www.quicken.com/support/can-i-install-quicken-multiple-computers
    Quicken user since 1997 
    Premier on Windows 7 
  • Mick SimpsonMick Simpson Member
    edited October 2018

I recently encountered problems with Quicken Deluxe 2017
    recognizing mapped drives. Long story short – the problem is resolved.  But I did see a lot of posts about how
    Quicken does not work with mapped drives or the Cloud. That piqued my interest
    because I've been using mapped drives for my Quicken data for close to 30 years
    without any data loss or corruption. 

As I’ve been an independent consultant in the IT/Telephony/Cloud
    field for most of my career, I maintained home networks, servers, RAID arrays
    and more to ensure I had the knowledge to advise my clients. As a practice I
    NEVER keep data on my computer (desktop/laptop/tablet). I've used my servers (Novell,
    Windows), external drives, and/or RAID arrays for all my data. I've long since discontinued
    the use of servers and now all my data is either on my NAS RAID array, the
    Cloud, or mirrored to both. I am rapidly moving more of my data to the Cloud
    and see my use of on site RAID near the end of its life cycle on or before the
    end of 2019.

That data migration now includes Quicken as of February 23, 2018.

Today I tested Quicken with Microsoft OneDrive and had partial
    success as follows. 

FIRST TEST: Quicken data file was placed in a
    OneDrive folder named Financial\Quicken with no local file synchronization.
    Quicken opens the file but only if you right click the file, select
    "download" and then "open" in the dialogs. Windows buries
    the file deep within the Users\AppData\Roaming\.... folder. This approach is
    not a viable Cloud solution.