2018 Slowness

I updated from Quicken 2015 to 2018 today and this new version is _really_ slow.

The 2015 version was no speed demon, but this new one is painfully slow. After selecting one of my investment accounts, it takes about 10 seconds before the app is usable. I currently have 15 active accounts (and many more older ones that are hidden.)

I just checked the size of my Accounts.quicken file and it's 160.5 MB (the one for 2015 was 135.2 MB). Since I didn't add any information after the update, that extra 25 MB might be the culprit. (It took a lot of time to check the data after I opened the file - on the order of 5-10 minutes.)

I've been using Quicken since 1996 and don't really want to get rid of my historical data. Is there anything I can do to speed things up?

-ch

Comments

• Jerry MathersJerry Mathers Member
    edited May 2018
    Quicken Windows or Quicken Mac?  US or Canada?
  • chockenberrychockenberry Member
    edited May 2018
    Quicken Mac in US.
  • Jerry MathersJerry Mathers Member
    edited June 2018

Quicken Mac in US.

Click on the "Investments" in the Account sidebar.

Reduce the graph by "grabbing" the dot and moving it to close the graph.

See if that helps.  
  • chockenberrychockenberry Member
    edited May 2018

Quicken Mac in US.

That helps once the account has been loaded, but there's still a substantial delay when picking the account for the first time after the app has been launched.
  • jgharris7jgharris7 Member
    edited November 2018

I was ready to dump Quicken due to similar problems with slowness, and found it is due to having Windows automatically detect settings for your Lan.  Go to the "Internet Options" in your control panel and  select the "Connections tab", then select the "Lan Settings" button. Make sure that the "Automatically detect settings" box is unchecked. This was also causing erratic performance with other applications.