IDEA to support Thrift Savings Plan

I understand that it is on the TSP to work with Quicken, but that still leaves numerous Quicken users caught in the middle.  I've been using Quicken since 1993 and would like support for this idea.  My idea would be a tweak to the Portfolio Update Price process that could be done by Quicken to help make the manual updates easier.  Add a screen for TSP that lets us put in a single date, and then the prices for the funds as shown on https://www.tsp.gov/InvestmentFunds/FundPerformance/index.html.  In other words, it would be a simpler process to type just the 10 fund prices rather than choose the fund, click the update, pick the date, enter the price, and repeat 10 times.  Even better would be the ability to copy/paste from the TSP website into your input screen, which I can do into Excel, and each price enters a separate cell.  Just imagine the joy for hundreds-of-thousands of federal and military servants to be able to do a simple copy/paste and the fund prices would be current!  Thank you for your consideration of this idea.
0 votes

No Status · Last Updated

Comments

• mshigginsmshiggins SuperUser
    edited July 2018
    From C. D. Bales:

I question whether Quicken should expend any of their limited resources for this; especially when you consider that TSP does not appear to be expending any of their resources - even the very limited resources needed to supply a Quicken compatible file of their prices (see below). It would also create an unwanted precedent for Quicken.

[I'm extremely skeptical that there are anywhere near hundreds of thousands of Quicken users who are using TSP. Have you evidence to support that?]

Quicken can import security prices from a properly formatted .CSV file.

If seems to me you could implement much of your idea using Excel. Pre-fill the appropriate Excel rows/columns, modify the variable field(s) as needed for each price update, then have Excel save the data as a .CSV file.