New Computer, how to migrate from Quicken 1999 to 2019

I have been using Quicken 1999 since 1999...the latest computer was a windows 7 machine.  I have just upgraded to a windows 10 machine without a CD drive (although I could use an external). What is my best option as far as continuing with Quicken is concerned?  All I use it for is writing checks and end of year tax records.  Should I try to download the 1999 version on the WIN 10 machine (I also have the 2007 basic version but have never installed it). Or should I just go with the latest payed version....Can I assume that my old data will work?  What would you guys do in this situation?

Comments

• Hello Gsrider,

To convert the 1999 data it will need to be converted to the 2004 data that can't be installed on the Windows 10 OS.

That would then need to be converted to the 2013 version that can be installed on the Windows 10.

To do so, you would need 2 computers, one on Windows 7 and the second on Windows 10.

After the conversion, if it works it's recommended that it only be used for reference purposes.

Hopefully, that gives some insight as to how you would like to proceed.

-Quicken Tyka

• splashersplasher SuperUser
    Q-Tyka forgot to give you the link to the article providing the 2004 & 2013 versions:

-splasher  using Q since 1996 -  QW2016, 2017 & Subscription  -  Win7/Win10
    -Questions? Check out the  Quicken Windows FAQ list

• A couple of questions...

How do you convert the 1999 data to 2004 data and then to 2013 data? 

Then how would you install the 2013 data on the Win 10 machine...do I have to buy both versions.... 2004 and 2013 to accomplish this? 

So the 2013 version can be installed on the Win 10 machine?  Can that be done online or with a CD?

Thanks for your response...
  • Indeed, I did forget! Thank you Splasher!

Gsrider, the links to both 2004 and the 2013 program can be downloaded and installed from the link above! No purchasing required. 

-Quicken Tyka
    gsrider said: