Quicken Community is moving to Single Sign On! Starting 1/22/21, you'll sign in to the community with your Quicken ID. For more information: http://bit.ly/CommunitySSO

Autocategorize downloaded transactions

This discussion was created from comments split from: Quicken for Mac v5.11 Released.

Comments

• I am new to Quicken in general and just downloaded 5.11.0 yesterday and imported a bunch of transactions.  How can I set certain vendors to auto categorize to whatever I change them to after they import?  It's making me crazy...I spent hours yesterday recategorizing a million transactions just to import new ones today from the same places and they show up with the same categories as what I had changed them from yesterday.  

I really need it to memorize what I changed it too for future imports or this is useless to me as it takes hours to correct each one over and over.

Thanks so much for any help!  I've tried googling and everyone just talks about choosing to memorize the transaction, but I don't appear to have that functionality.  

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Quicken Mac at this time does not have the feature of memorizing a transaction -- but the developers have indicated this is coming in the future.

The way Quicken Mac works is that it essentially 'memorizes' the latest transaction for each Payee. If you were to manually create a new transaction and type any Payee name, Quicken will auto-fill the amount, category(ies), memo, etc. with the last-used values for that Payee.

Unfortunately, that doesn't help when you're downloading transactions rather than entering them manually.