Home Quicken for Windows Download, Add/Update Accounts (Windows)

Lost Open Balance amount in Quicken account

I have been using a Quicken account since 1/1/2012 that tracks my checking account. Today I went to use it and found that it had the wrong balance (something that I had checked last week and it had the correct amount). I hunted for the error for an hour until I relized that the Open Balance amount was missing from 12/31/2011. What a pain. I can enter the amount but wonder if there is some system problem about this.

Comments

• NotACPANotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    3 possible reasons come to mind.
    1. Fumble  fingers
    2. Some else with access  to your computer  deleted it
    3. Corrupted data file.
    For this last option try doing FILE, Save a copy as ... and then VALIDATE  the copy (FILE, File Operations,  Validate and Repair).
    BUT, in all sincerity, I really suspect one of the 1st 2 options as more likely than corrupted data.
    Q user since DOS version 5
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription,  Home & Business
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP
  • paulflstruppaulflstrup Member ✭✭
    Validate & Repair did not help so I entered the missing transaction. Does having such a long date range of transactions cause any problems? I could consolidate but I like having all the data.
    Thanks, Paul
    I've been using my Quicken data file since DOS version 5 ... which is 20+ years.
    Does that answer your question?
    Now the same thing has happened with my credit card account (it says I have a credit balance 14,442). The account has lost its beginning balance entry. I will fix this but wonder why this is happening - and NO I did not accidentally delete the begin balance entry. These accounts are from Honor Credit Union and I wonder if they are doing something to cause this.
    "These accounts are from Honor Credit Union and I wonder if they are doing something to cause this. "