Home Quicken for Windows Download, Add/Update Accounts (Windows)

Help with tracking Voluntary benefits paid by payroll deduction

I am paying auto, umbrella, renter's, and landlord's insurance premiums biweekly through payroll deduction, along with subscriptions to 2 other "voluntary" benefit programs. My pay stub just lists the aggregate total deducted for all six, but I finally obtained a breakdown for each, so I know how much is going where. Can anyone suggest an efficient way for me to track these payments? Should/Could I use the paycheck wizard to list the individual payments in after-tax deductions, even though they aren't itemized on my pay stub? I've never used this feature before, so I'm not very confident in how to proceed. (Life used to be so much simpler...) All ideas will be gratefully accepted.

Best Answer

• BoatnmaniacBoatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭
    edited February 14 Accepted Answer
    Before I retired I found the paycheck wizard to be a great tool for doing exactly what you stated, especially for tracking tax-related costs for use in the Tax Planner and in generating Tax Summary and Tax Schedule reports.  But there are some things you should keep in mind about setting up this type of income/paycheck reminder:
    1)  It works best for people who have stable gross pay and paycheck deductions (i.e., the same amounts every time) and if you find it important to track all the different paycheck categories.  If you are salaried or if you are hourly paid and work the same number of hours each pay period and if your after-tax and pre-tax deductions are the same each pay period this is a sweet way to create an income/paycheck reminder.