Home Before you Buy

renew or simply rebuy

jperljperl Member
I'm new to this subscription service. I have version 2019 which expires this mid June. Quicken is asking me to renew at $80. Should I do this or rebuy the product at retail for $69. I also notice that there are sales on 2 year subscriptions for a $30 savings, but Quicken isn't offering me this.
Any suggestions?

Answers

• GeoffGGeoffG SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Purchase where you find the best price. Online retailers sell the activation code which is all you need to enter on quicken.com to extend your current subscription.
    user since '92 | Quicken Windows Premier - Subscription | Windows 10 Pro version 1909
  • splashersplasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 11
    Since 2018, it is just subscription Quicken, the year is pure marketing.  Having an active subscription gets you all updates to the software and all the online banking features.  It is an all inclusive price, not a fee in addition to the software purchase.
    It doesn't matter where you purchase Quicken from, Quicken.com or a retailer partner, it is all the same, the only difference is the $/month, so shop around for the best deal.
    Now and then, Quicken.com will make an offer that is pretty good that is only valid to first time subscription buyers, so there is a chance that Quicken.com may be a better deal that the retailers.
    If you purchase from Quicken.com, the initial subscription starts at the time of purchase; with a retail purchase, it starts when you activate the subscription.
    I advise that after your subscription is active, you login to Quicken.com and set your account preferences to "Auto Renew" to OFF, that way you have complete control over the price when you extend your subscription in the future since Quicken.com charges MSRP.