Quicken Community is moving to Single Sign On! Starting 1/22/21, you'll sign in to the community with your Quicken ID. For more information: http://bit.ly/CommunitySSO

When my Quicken Data is imported into TurboTax duplicate tax forms are created

I have been using Quicken and TurboTax for more than 15 years, or maybe more than 20 years.

In the past few years after I have imported my Quicken data into TurboTax, it resulted in duplicate tax forms in TurboTax. So, needing to get taxes finished I deleted the duplicated manually (what a pain!)

I am running late this year in getting my taxes finished but close to being ready to import again.

If there is any advise that you can provide based on your experience regarding these duplicates, it is certainly welcome.

Having some documentation regarding the criteria for Quicken data to be matched with TurboTax would be quite helpful.

This year, I plan to create a lot of Quicken and TurboTax file backups and screen shots, as I go, to have more details regarding this issue that I can share with Quicken Support/Community.

I also plan to report this issue with the TurboTax community for their input.

Thanks!

Comments

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    My advice is not to import data from Quicken into TurboTax.  Years ago I tried that every year and every year I spent more time trying to get the import to be correct than it would take to just enter the numbers.  And with the exception of business expense that are recorded no where else Quicken isn't the "authority", the official numbers have to come from what is reported to the IRS, which means the 1099s, W-2s, ...

And TurboTax has a pretty good system for getting a lot of that information directly from the financial institutions.

So years ago I stopped trying to import tax data from Quicken into TurboTax, and as a result I got rid of a lot of frustration and I get my taxes done faster.
    Signature: