Can I split an account into two accounts so I can keep the historical data?

Actually I'm not sure I'm asking the right question.
I am running Quicken Home & Business 2014 Release R 2 (23.1.2.12). System = Windows 10.

I've been running Quicken in various forms since 1994. I've kept the data because it's useful to be able to search back for all sorts of reasons. Today in my oldest checking account (call it Checking A) I recorded 4 payments. On the fourth payment (2 in another account, 1 in the Checking A in question, the last in Checking A) Quicken crashed. I restored my data file from a backup and can add the first 3 of these payments. Once I try to enter that last transaction Quicken crashes.

When I start up Quicken I can look up my other accounts - no issue. But if I go back to Checking A I get a "Quicken has encountered a problem and needs to close..." error dialog. I can't send the report either. I also tried rebooting to see if that would help but it didn't change any results.

So my theory is that maybe there's a limit on transactions in a file? Or something like that? And now I've reached that limit? If I'm correct what I'd like to do is split Checking A into 2 accounts, one just so I can keep searching and making reports, and the other to continue as a working account.

Sorry I've gone on so long. I didn't know how to say this in a shorter form that would still accurately convey the situation. If there's something else I could / should do I'm all ears. I need my Quicken back. Thanks.
Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• Rocket J Squirrel
    Rocket J Squirrel SuperUser, Windows Beta ✭✭✭✭✭
    In the Help menu, hold CTRL while clicking About Quicken. Post the contents of the resulting dialog here.
    Quicken user since version 2 for DOS, now using QWin Premier Subscription on Win10 Pro.
  • Aardvark32
    Aardvark32 Member
    Size of QDF File: 35706K
    Accounts: 23
    Categories: 370
    Memorized Payees: 455
    Securities: 25
    Transactions: 35295