Quicken 2016 has suddenly stopped working

I have been using Quicken 2016 for the last several years and it has worked fine up until today. Now, when I try to start it, there is just a quick flash of a white screen, then it closes. I have shut down the computer twice, but it still isn't working. Can you help with this?

Best Answer

Answers

• Greg_the_Geek
    Greg_the_Geek SuperUser, Windows Beta ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2020
    Have you Shutdown or Restart? If you have fast startup enabled, a shutdown will NOT do a restart. Try rebooting.
    Quicken Subscription HBRP - Windows 10
  • Bechtelbrad
    Bechtelbrad Member ✭✭
    Thanks for the answer. I have both shut the machine off and restarted, and rebooted the machine-neither have worked. I have also put the Quicken disk in the CD drive, but the drive fails to recognize the disk. When I click on the drive, it opens and tells me to insert a disk. Any further suggestions? Thanks for your help
  • Greg_the_Geek
    Have you tried the CD in another drive?
  • Bechtelbrad
    Bechtelbrad Member ✭✭
    At your recommendation, I tried it in the other drive that I have, and the computer recognizes it. If I reinstall the program, will I lose all the information? I do have a backup, but I am not sure that it is up to date.

Thanks again for your help
  • Greg_the_Geek
    No, the Quicken program and data file are independent. To be safe, copy you .QDF file to an external drive. You should use QCleanUI (https://www.quicken.com/support/using-qcleanui-uninstall-quicken) to remove Quicken 2016. When you reinstall, make sure you get the latest Mondo patch.
    http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/quickenpatches.html
  • Bechtelbrad
    Bechtelbrad Member ✭✭
    Thanks again for your help. I have looked through the Quicken folder and can't find a .qdf file. Where should I look for this?

Thanks again
  • Greg_the_Geek