Home Before you Buy

Can I install Quicken and save the data file to an external disk - to save disk space

DianaFDianaF Member
edited November 21 in Before you Buy
I am currently using Quicken for Windows on my Mac. The old versions of Parallels and Windows being used are becoming unstable so I would like to convert to the Mac version. The problem is that until I buy a new Mac, I am short on space. Would there be any problems if I installed the application as well as the data to an external disk?

Answers

• Rocket J SquirrelRocket J Squirrel SuperUser, Windows Beta ✭✭✭✭✭
    There may be problems. I have no knowledge of Parallels on Mac, but in Win10 on a PC, Quicken leaves plenty of droppings on C: no matter what you do. You will find droppings in places like
    C:\ProgramData\Quicken
    %APPDATA%\Quicken
    %LOCALAPPDATA%\Quicken
    which are all on C: no matter where you put the program and data.
    The data file can go anywhere, but it will be slow to access and may incur corruption if not on C:. The application expects to be in C:\Program Files (x86)\Quicken and may be confused if it's located elsewhere. It's a very old program with not a lot of flexibility.
    Quicken user since version 2 for DOS, now using QWin Premier Subscription on Win10 Pro.
  • Chris_QPWChris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    I believe this question is really can the Quicken Mac data file be stored on an external disk, not if Quicken Windows can do it.
    (I'm using the latest Quicken subscription version)
  • thecreatorthecreator SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    DianaF said:
    I am currently using Quicken for Windows on my Mac. The old versions of Parallels and Windows being used are becoming unstable so I would like to convert to the Mac version. The problem is that until I buy a new Mac, I am short on space. Would there be any problems if I installed the application as well as the data to an external disk?
    Hi @DianaF ,