Multiple corruption errors immediately after updating to R30.14 and doing one-step update

I have been using Quicken for over 30 years. I have never had an update that so horribly corrupted my data. Multiple transactions are missing their categories or transfer accounts. Account balances are off by thousands of dollars.

I saw another message mentioning a sync error. Is it possible that if my cloud sync data got corrupted, that this would automatically sync back and destroy my local data? Given the timing (immediately after a quicken update), an error by quicken itself seems more likely, though.

I did not review my accounts between my quicken update and my one-step update. So I will try turning off cloud sync, restoring from my last backup, and seeing what happens...

Comments

• jrich75
    jrich75 Member ✭✭✭✭
    If you have automatic backups on, Quicken should have created a backup immediately before installing the patch.  The general recommendation is to delete the cloud sync file before restoring the backup.  
    Quicken user since 1995
    Win10 Deluxe Subscription thru 2021
  • jodmarch
    jodmarch Member ✭✭
    > The general recommendation is to delete the cloud sync file before restoring the backup.

Thank you @jrich75 . Unfortunately, this does not seem possible to do at present. After disabling sync in the app, I can't access cloud sync through the app (not surprisingly), and my web login is failing (as is "reset password" which fails to send a reset email - yes, I've checked the spam folder). But hopefully having sync totally disabled will suffice. Any other suggestions for how to delete the cloud sync file are welcome.

> If you have automatic backups on, Quicken should have created a backup immediately before installing the patch.

I do, but no, it did not create a backup. I see that another user responded about this on another thread, as follows: