View Unreconciled transactions with the register showing correct balance

I am new to Quicken - finally jumped from Microsoft Money in January so this is my first time balancing my checking account in quicken. I have balanced my account but it still shows all of my transactions, with only the unreconciled ones bolded. When I toggle to show only unreconciled transactions, the register balance is incorrect, only showing the balance on the unreconciled items, not on the entire balance. The tiny balance in the bottom right of the screen is correct, but I want my register to show correctly. How do I make this happen. This was an automatic feature in Money and is going to make me crazy if I can't get it to work in quicken. I feel like I have tried all of the views, so it must be a setting somewhere. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @rdaugherty73,

So, when you say "toggle to shown only unreconciled transactions" what you are doing is asking Quicken to show only those unreconciled items - so the "Balance" column now shows the cumulative total of ONLY those unreconciled transactions -which isn't the "running balance" of your checking account. 

I did try out MS Money many years ago, so I don't recall the feature you were using, or how that worked.  But rather than "sorting" to show only unreconciled items, I would suggest you try a view where you only see transactions within a certain date range - for example for the time period starting with the date of the oldest transaction that had not cleared your most recent bank statement through today, or better yet - use the "Last 30 days" preset.  With both of these filters, you'll see the correct running balance in the register, and with the "Last 30 days" you won't have to reset the filter every month.

Hope this helps.

Frankx

Quicken H&B-Subscription Ver. 34.24 - Windows 10-Home Ver. 2004