Maximum number of datasets exceeded

I've been using quicken for over twenty five years. When am I suddenly getting this error?

Ticket 8349511

Answers

• Studpup
    Studpup Windows Beta Beta
    I'm not a quicken employee, just trying to be a helpful pup!
  • alex118
    alex118 Member ✭✭
    Thank you. I've used Quicken for over twenty five years. This issue never happened before. What changed? How does Quicken fix this issue?
  • alex118
    alex118 Member ✭✭
    Changing the extension of the file name is a work around. What changed on the Quicken server?
  • Studpup
    Studpup Windows Beta Beta
    edited February 18
    I believe from reading other's posts, that any time you do a restore, quicken creates a new dataset for that version of the file. I assume there's a limit how many can exist on the server. 

If you have two computers, and instead of backup to a thumb drive & restoring on the second computer, just copy the .qdf file in windows explorer instead to move the file back and forth.

Glad its fixed though!

I'm not a quicken employee, just trying to be a helpful pup!
  • alex118
    alex118 Member ✭✭
    Thank you for your response. I've been sharing backup files with two computers for more than a year. This issue recently developed. Any representative from Quicken, can you provide an answer?
  • splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭
    This is all due to change in the background that Quicken has implemented and the user has no direct control over it since it involves the Quicken Cloud Account that keeps track of your subscription (but no financial data unless you use QMobile/Q-Web).
    Rather than using Backup/Restore to move the data file, it is now suggested that you use a Windows Explorer copy to move the data file which gets around the dataset exceeded problem popping up.
    -splasher  using Q since 1996 -  Subscription  -  Win10
    -also older versions as needed for testing
    -Questions? Check out the  Quicken Windows FAQ list
  • alex118