How to remove, or a better way to do a balance adjustment

I am new to quicken & using it's full abilities, in learning process.
After making changes to categories (after reconciled) an account balance changed. I used the balance adjustment which now shows as spending.
Is there a way to adjust balance without it showing as "spending"

Answers

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Is it possible that one of the Category changes you made changed a transfer transaction from Category = [transfer-to account name here] to some other category?
    If so, Quicken deleted the matched transaction in the "transfer-to account", hence the balance difference.
    Transfers create a matched pair of transactions, one in the checking account, for example, and one in the credit card account whose bill you just paid. Changes made to one of the transactions reflect in the other one, too.
    Once you figure out which transaction was incorrectly changed and correct it, the balance adjustment should no longer be needed.
    The category of a Balance Adjustment transaction generated by Quicken should be "a transfer to the same account", e.g., you're working in the credit card account, the category used will be [name of credit card account], enclosed in [brackets]
    If, however, you're adjusting the balance of a Cash account to cover some small expenses you didn't individually record, you should categorize that to one or more real expense categories, because it was real spending.
  • dgss1
    dgss1 Member
    "Transfers create a matched pair of transactions, one in the checking account, for example, and one in the credit card account whose bill you just paid. Changes made to one of the transactions reflect in the other one, too."

I do not like the Transfer box that appears after One Step Update.
    Is there a way to prevent that ? I do pay for things for the kiddos, so it messes with me which are & are not. young adults whos accounts are linked.