Quicken Community is moving to Single Sign On! Starting 1/22/21, you'll sign in to the community with your Quicken ID. For more information: http://bit.ly/CommunitySSO

Upgrading from Quicken 2002

rodmac51
rodmac51 Member ✭✭
I've been using Quicken 2002 for around 20 years and never found anything better. However, since the last Windows 10 update (version 20H2) it won't run at all. So it looks like I've got no option than to upgrade.

If I buy the new version therefore, will I be able to restore the 'QDF' back-up file from Quicken 2002 to the new version and will any of the functions be obsolete? If I can't restore from the back-up file will I have to set everything up manually or is there some sort of transfer process I can use?

Although I've been using Quicken for decades this is my first post on here so I'd welcome input from anyone who's already upgraded from Quicken 2002 (deluxe business version) please.

Many thanks

Answers

• Greg_the_Geek
    Greg_the_Geek SuperUser, Windows Beta ✭✭✭✭✭
    You can convert to the free version of Quicken 2013 Deluxe which runs on Windows 10.

Convert Data From an Earlier Version of Quicken (When to Use an Intermediate Version) | Quicken
    Quicken Subscription HBRP - Windows 10
  • rodmac51
    rodmac51 Member ✭✭
    > @Greg_the_Geek said:
    > You can convert to the free version of Quicken 2013 Deluxe which runs on Windows 10.
    >
    > Convert Data From an Earlier Version of Quicken (When to Use an Intermediate Version) | Quicken

Thanks. That was quick - but its for the US version only. Mine is for the UK. I assume the currency will be wrong if I try the US version?
  • Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @rodmac51,

It has been a while since I used the Q 2013 version, however here's some current guidance on how to change the home currency - LINK.  I suspect that these steps would likely not have changed since 2013, but cannot say for sure.

Frankx