Quicken Community is moving to Single Sign On! Starting 1/22/21, you'll sign in to the community with your Quicken ID. For more information: http://bit.ly/CommunitySSO

Transfers between accounts not categorized correctly

I have been using Quicken for several years. I have my bank accounts and credit card accounts linked to Quicken so I can download transactions. In the past, a payment from my checking account to the credit card account would show up as follows: When viewing the checking account, the transaction would have a category of "[Mastercard xxxxx]" (where xxxxx shows part of the account number). When viewing the credit card account, the transaction category would display as "[Free Checking xxxxx]".
Suddenly starting this January, the categories were reversed - in the checking account the category shows as "[Free Checking xxxxx]" and in the credit card it shows as "[Mastercard xxxxx]".
This makes absolutely no sense - you want the category to display where the money was transferred to (or from). But right now the category is the same as the account itself, making it seem like it is transfering to/from itself.
I tried to change the category so that it appeared the same as it had always appeared until this January. This resulted in Quicken creating a duplicate transaction for the other account, and would then have to go and delete the other transaction. In other words, if I change the category of the payment under the credit card to [Free Checking xxxx], a duplicate transaction is created in the Checking account and I have to delete the other one.
This seems like a bug to me - it definitely started occurring in January and has happened each month since then. Is there a solution to this?

Answers

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭