How do I recapture my 2007 for Windows after a computer death?

I have been using a 2007 pirate copy since 2007, but my desktop died, and I lost Quicken. My son reinstalled the disk, but it's asking some weird questions and won't let me in. I called my bank; they were remarkably rude and refused to help me. They said no one in the department understands a 2007 Quicken, and they don't want me to use it. I called Quicken, and they said they don't support the 2007 version. I told them I don't want their support. I just want what I had. I don't want fancy stuff; I just want to write checks and balance my bank statement every month. I'm an 83 year old woman whose husband just died, and I need simplicity and the ability to monitor my spending. Please help! I also have a 2019 copy, but it's far, far, far too complex -- asking for things i don't have, things I don't want, things I don't want to know. It's virtually asking me to build a computer from twigs and leaves and then bring it to life.

Answers

• volvogirl
    volvogirl SuperUser ✭✭✭✭
    Do you have a backup of your  2007 data?   Try this......
    You should at least try to convert to the 2013 version since you don’t use any online services or download transactions now. Starting in 2014 they instituted an ID password to get into your own data. I’m staying on 2013. 

You can download 2013 Deluxe for free using this how to convert article.  It’s under Converting from Quicken 2004-2009.

FYI - All Quicken versions prior to QW2010 store your data in a series of files all sharing the same filename but with different extensions like - .IDX, .QEL, .QPH & .QDF, and all 4 of those files were rolled into a single-file .QDF in starting in 2010.

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    You mentioned you had a copy of Quicken 2019 (aka Quicken Subscription) for Windows. Installing and using this version on your replacement computer would turn you into a supported customer, provided that you keep your subscription up-to-date.