Downloads wipe out categories, "Reconcile" wrongly

I've been using Quicken since 1999, and I truly loathe the changes they have made.

For 20 years, I've been manually inputting my transactions because I've heard so many bad things about downloading. I'm now at a point where I need to save the time, so I set up my credit cards to download the transactions.

TWICE now, downloading Chase credit cards WIPES OUT ALL OF THE CATEGORY INFORMATION FOR PREVIOUS TRANSACTIONS!

I lost a full year of categories. I'm going to have to do this all manually. AGAIN.

Then, Quicken "reconciles" the account. The statement hasn't closed, and I didn't choose "reconcile." I just want to download the transactions. Why is Quicken doing this?

[removed - disruptive/unhelpful] I'm resorting to tracking what's due in EXCEL. I don't have to pay Quicken for that.

Can someone please help me fix this?

Answers

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    "I lost a full year of categories. I'm going to have to do this all manually. AGAIN."
    This isn't relevant to your main point but you should have Quicken set up to automatically make a backup of the file each time you close Quicken and then ask you to "manually" backup your file (at a different location) after "X" number of closings.  Unless you've completely disabled backups you should have a backup file - hopefully made immediately prior to the download you're referring to - such that you don't have to try and reconstruct a year's worth of transactions.
    As to your main issue... how is the Chase credit card setup for downloading?  If it's Express Web Connect then switching, if you can, to Direct Connect may alleviate the problem as it's just more reliable and EWC seems to have been the culprit in other cases where downloads seem to hose the Quicken file.
  • Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭