Credit card account reversed

I have a Mastercard account established as a credit card account for which I regularly download entries from the PCFinancial website. When I go to reconcile the account, Quicken recognizes all the transactions correctly as either charges or payments. The ledger correctly shows as a negative balance, but the reconciliation reverses the cleared balance to a positive number, while the statement ending balance is a negative number. Thus the difference is about double the outstanding balance. How can I correct the reconciliation process?

Comments

• bobmacle
    bobmacle Member ✭✭
    I deal with this account as well and wrote to them about the problem but got absolutely nowhere. There are two ways I work around it. You mentioned one and that is to go through the reconciliation process that requires you to install an adjustment amount. I do this, then delete the adjustment and I'm left with the correct setting. The other way is to not click on "Reconcile" when everything is entered and I know it is definitely reconciled, but to manually place an "R" in the appropriate column. If you know the account is definitely reconciled all you are doing is adapting to a situation that results from an incorrectly written program.
  • Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    You said " while the statement ending balance is a negative number."
    Are you reconciling to a paper statement or are you reconciling to the online balance?
    If you owe money then the "Online balance" shown on the "Reconcile Online Account {Account Name}" screen should be negative.  Is it?
    If you're reconciling to a paper statement and owe money then the number you enter in the "Ending balance" box should entered as a positive number.  Is it?
  • The online balance is the problem. The reconciliation will show:
    Cleared Balance: 1,000.00
    Statement Ending Balance: -1 ,000.00
    Difference: 2,000.00

Adjustment amount: 2,000.00