Missing split transactions

I have recently noticed that an update from this summer(don't know which one) caused split mortgage transactions to "disconnect". For example, I manually post a mortgage payment from my checking account with a split between the principle and interest. The principle portion should decrease the mortgage liability account and the interest portion should add to the category for mortgage interest. This worked beautifully for years. Somehow, one of the updates separated these and the checking account now shows the full amount allocated either nowhere or to the mortgage liability account. This overwrote manual entries. Then, going to the mortgage liability account to view transactions show a principle amount reduction yet it is not showing as coming from any transaction. This error has gone back as far as 2017. I should note that I am a 40 year retired CPA who has used Quicken for more than 20 years. So I understand accounting quite well. I have also validated and super validated my accounts. Obviously 2017 is too far back to restore a backup. I am thinking there is no way to relink these and I am looking at 4 years of deleting and re-entering these transactions. Curiously, this happened on a regular deposit that had a split and also on the typical car payment transaction for two cars. Other kinds of split transactions seem to be unaffected.

Any advice?

Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @CRRen

I am sorry to hear that you are having this problem.

You said "Obviously 2017 is too far back to restore a backup.".  So one thing that I want to mention, at the outset, is that even though this recent "data corruption" has affected transactions going back some 4 years, you may be able to restore a much more recent backup file (not a file that was backed up in 2017) to get your datafile where it was before this happened.