How to enter canadian RRSP Certificates (2 Types) in Quicken Deluxe (Canada)

I am new to Quicken user (Quicken Deluxe, Canadian edition) from Canada and I need assistance in how I enter in my RRSP account a purchased:
- Guaranteed Investment Certificate (GIC) that will give me 2% annually, maturing in 3 years; and
- TD Canadian Banking & Utilities GIC (in that same account), linked to market, that will give me an overall minimum of 2% return in 5 years, up to a maximum of 18.88%.
Please help.
Thank you.

Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    HI @SNadeau,

The recommended way to handle these types of investments (which the GIC's you describe are) is to set up a new "security" in Quicken, for each one of these GIC's you purchase through the RRSP account.  Here's a LINK to the "step by step" instructions.  Keep in mind that these are written for US folks - so a "CD" is the same as a "GIC" for these purposes.

Let me know if you have any followups.

Frankx

Quicken H,B &RP-Subscription Ver. 36.38 - Windows 10-Home Version

- - - - Quicken User since 1984 - - - 
      -  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

• SNadeau
    SNadeau Member ✭✭
    Thanks for the quick reply, Frankx. Which Exchange option do I choose (I have to select one, even though one of my GICs is not linked to the market). And where do I add the interest rate that it will provide after 3 years?
  • Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi again @SNadeau,

Okay - apparently the Canadian version may act differently than the US version.  After you select "Add Security" do you get this pop-up?  see below

If so you should "Click here" which should eliminate the requirement to select an Exchange.  If you are seeing something else, let me know.