Quicken file size

DIR
DIR Member
My QB file size is 95 MB. It works just fine. Had a problem and tech support worked it through. Performed a restore from an older file and then a validate and super validate. Fixed some issues and I'm running well. Support advised my file size is quite large. The first tech rep advised I "copy" my file and commence with a later start date. A 2nd rep said that often causes problems. I copied my files and problems ensued (including bad opening balances and bill manager issues).

I've been using Quicken since 1995. I have lots of inactive accounts for which I have no need. If I delete old inactive accounts, will that shrink the file size? Any other consequences (assuming those accounts aren't linked to other accounts)? Thanks community.

Comments

• Beijing Mac
    Beijing Mac Member ✭✭✭✭
    my current file size is a bit over 230 MB in Explorer but Quicken About lists as 194 MB.  you can do a year end archive or copy and select some older years to archive and keep more recent years if you want to reduce file size.  Another prior recommendation is to purge Memorized Payees to help clean up your file.  Would not recommend manually deleting older or inactive accounts.  Would recommend  "closing" these accounts and then using the Year End Archive feature and selecting the year and then archiving older transactions. 

My current file starts with transactions of Jan 2006, so I currently have 16 years of data.  Surprised that you were told by "support" that the file size was an issue.  First I've heard and have read from others / super users that there was actually no issue with larger file sizes.  But you can't use on a network or cloud type location, needs to be local.
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    95MB is "small".  I would recommend doing nothing.  My data file is 151MB with transactions back to 1996 and I'm having no problems with it.