Balances do not match at start of reconcile

I've been using Quicken since the 1980's, but today when I tried to reconcile my checking account, my Quicken balance was off by $200. Every month up to February is good, but the ending balance I had in mid-February is now $200 less than what it should be.
In other words, the bank statement shows a balance of $200 more than what I'm showing, but my previous reconcile matches wit the bank.

thanks for your help!

Answers

• The Keeper
    The Keeper Member ✭✭✭✭
    Is your March starting reconcile balance different than your February ending balance?

If so, you need to change your March starting balance to the amount in your February ending balance. I recently experienced the same problem, ie, an incorrect starting balance for my March reconciliation, and attempted to change the amount. Although I was able to hand enter the amount in the starting balance field, the amount reverted back to the incorrect amount when I tried to reconcile again. I posted a question on this board and received this reply:

"you can't change the value Quicken uses for starting the reconcile."

After some experimentation, I discovered that you can indeed change the starting amount only instead of manually entering the amount, use the calculator icon adjacent to the starting amount field. When I used the calculator icon I was able to change the starting amount and it was accepted.

I'm basing this reply on your header, "Balances do not match at the start of reconcile" and not your actual comments which were somewhat confusing to me. 
  • Fajita Shorty
    Fajita Shorty Member
    Thank you so much, that really worked!
  • Fajita Shorty
    Fajita Shorty Member
    Oops, sorry, I tried entering the correct opening balance using the calculator as you suggested, it seemed to work, but when I got to the reconcile window, the program said in the lower left by the balances, "Opening balance difference: $1060.00"