I Have a Renter that rented from me house A and now he wants to rent house B, how do you enter that?

Gamal Mustafa
Gamal Mustafa Member ✭✭✭
I Have a Renter that rented from me house A and now he wants to rent house B, how do you enter that?

Can the same person rent two houses from you in quicken? Or do I have to setup two different renters?

Answers

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭
    I don't use the Rental property feature ... but I'm not aware of any reason why 1 person couldn't rent 2 properties. SO
    • Take a backup (just in case)
    • Try setting up the renter in House B and see what happens.
    The worst case scenario is that you'd have to restore from that backup.
    Q user since DOS version 5
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Home & Business
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP
  • Gamal Mustafa
    Gamal Mustafa Member ✭✭✭
    edited April 18
    You can’t. Is a very poor design. I have been using quicken since 1993… 

Renter 1 cannot rent two house…. Even worse renter 1 cannot rent house A this year and then rent house B the next year….

and because name are unique you have to create a new renter and duplicate the info and put a 2 on the name to do that. 

The must frustrating thing is that You get to pay extra (over $100) for the rental edition, and that feature is was not thoroughly thought… 
  • NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 18
    What is the EXACT error message that you're getting?  A picture would be helpful
    And, HBR is currently about $23 more than the Premier version (see "Buy Quicken", above), so where did you get your $100 figure?
  • Gamal Mustafa
    Gamal Mustafa Member ✭✭✭
    There is no error. You just can do it. Not sure what picture will help you.
    Just try to have one person rent 2 different houses?

where do you put the start and end date of each individual lease? You can’t! Where do you put the deposit? You cant! 

Here is the current price;