How do I fix a corrupt data file?

MikeMike Member
edited January 2018 in
I am running Quicken 2010 Deluxe on Windows 7 (AMD/64). I have run into a problem
with data corruption and I would like to figure out how to fix this in such a way that the
problem is gone and I will be able to run a validate operation and have it return cleanly.
Is this an unrealistic goal? I have been running Quicken for more than 15 years now
and have a large amount of data I would like to maintain. I know that I can prune out
old accounts and securities that have had no activity in a decade or so but I would
prefer not to. So I guess that the first question is:

Is this a reasonable goal?

The next question deals with a specific corruption. I have a checking account into
which both my wife and I automatically deposit our paychecks. I have a scheduled
deposit for each of us and every time there is a deposit I manually jigger the
numbers to get everything right (SSI up .01, MED down .01, etc.). This txn includes
a transfer to an ESPP where a subsequent purchase operation takes place a
couple of days later. The problem is that I seem to have arrived in a state where the
checking account correctly shows one transaction but the stock account shows two
identical deposits. By manipulating the dates I now have one txn in the checking
account on one day but two txns in the stock account for the same amount but with
different dates. I have tried to delete each of the two stock txns but in both cases the
message is that this is a split transaction and I need to go to the other side to make
changes. I have tried deleting the txn in the checking account first and one of the
stock txns does go away. But I still can't delete the remaining stock txn as Quicken
reports that it cannot find the the split txn. I have run validate & super validate
multiple times and in each case it reports a number of problems having been found
and fixed, but the problem still remains. And when I rerun the validate or super