Home

How do you record PayPal fees?

kashburnkashburn Member
edited January 2019 in
For example, if I send an invoice to my client for $100 and he pays by PayPal, it shows that he paid $100 but only $95 is deposited into my PayPal account. How do I record the fee without it appearing that the client shorted the invoice?

Comments

• GeoffGGeoffG SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2019
    I would show the deposit as a split transaction with $100 going to your income account and $5 going to "Paypal Fee" with the net deposit $95.  Just be sure to reverse the sign on the fee.
    user since '92 | Quicken Windows Premier - Subscription | Windows 10 Pro version 1909
  • kashburnkashburn Member
    edited July 2016
    GeoffG said:

I would show the deposit as a split transaction with $100 going to your income account and $5 going to "Paypal Fee" with the net deposit $95.  Just be sure to reverse the sign on the fee.

I'm new to this so I need just a little more clarification. When I get paid I should record it as a deposit rather than a customer payment? In customer payment I don't see how to split the transaction. Thanks for your help.
    edited December 2016
    GeoffG said:

No problem... when you receive payment for deposit, you'll enter Deposit in the "Num" field, then payee and amount ($95) in the Deposit field (tab to each field).  When you get to "Category" press Alt-S.  This brings up the Split transaction screen.  Select the Income category you want and amount $100.  Then enter the expense category (PayPal Fees as an example) and enter -$5.  Since the deposit was for $95 the amounts should agree.
    user since '92 | Quicken Windows Premier - Subscription | Windows 10 Pro version 1909
    edited July 2016
    GeoffG said:

Thank you! Is there a place that has tutorials or scenarios to help learn the right way to set up the files? The community is great as long as you know what you are looking for.
    edited December 2016
    GeoffG said: