Basic File Info

WWhippleWWhipple Member ✭✭
Quicken H&B 2016 R 8(25.1.8.5).  Quicken apparently does automatic backups that I can see in Windows Explorer (..QBackup\BACKUP).  It also will backup on command which I place in QBackup.  Four recent files appear in the list at the bottom of the file menu.  Clicking on one of the four recent files simply opens the file.  Manually opening or restoring any of the automatic or manual backups presents ambiguous queries that I cannot answer.  Unfortunately, due to some troubleshooting by Quicken Support Chat, one of my files does not appear in the recent files.  Also, the recent files does not seem to reflect the name given for the most recent backup.  I'm confused by the relationship between these files and the recent file list and do not know how to proceed even though I've been using Quicken intensively for many years.  Note that this arises because I have one set of personal accounts and another for a non-profit for which I am treasurer.  I don't want a quick answer but a complete description of Quicken's file management.

Comments

• markus1957markus1957 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 11
    You pretty much have it figured out.

The ambiguous queries you mention sound like you clicked "forgot password".

Recent files are a list of data files recently opened, it means nothing other than these are the last 4 files you opened. It is a convenience list that will change as you open other files.

Backups are not considered data files, they should be opened using restore from backup.
    The number of automatic backups kept is set in Preferences. The backup naming convention is obvious, (data file name/data/time/.qdf-backup). While they might open by clicking on them that is a recipe for confusion unless you really are needing to restore a backup.

File>File Operations>Find Quicken files will locate all Quicken related files on your computer.