Investment account and security setup - best practices

Katherine Jones
Katherine Jones Member ✭✭
edited November 2018 in Investing (Windows)
I have been using Quicken since 1993 and have tracked savings, checking, investments (mutual funds and CDs) in the tool.  Recently I updated from QW2009 to QW2017 and looked forward to stop recording investment transactions manually and leverage the ability to have Quicken login to my FI and grab recent transactions (One Step Update).

I now have troubles as the system has created some Placeholder records.  I realize that I don't quite understand certain concepts....

My FI is T Rowe Price (TRP). With TRP I have a single Investor Number.  Under that Investor Number I have a total of about 12 Retirement and Non-Retirement Accounts.  Each account has a unique account number with TRP and each account is for a particular TRP Fund (i.e., Science & Technology Fund or GNMA Fund or Health Sciences Fund).  I have multiple accounts with TRP for the same fund. For example, I may have an Account at TRP that is Non-Retirement+GNMA Fund, an Account at TRP that is a Roth IRA+GNMA Fund, and an Account at TRP that is a Rollover IRA+GNMA Fund. It is these series of accounts that are causing me angst.

In QW17 I have roughly 12 Accounts that are Investments and Account Type is Brokerage and Single Mutual Fund Account=Yes; The Tax Deferred value is set according to whether it's a Retirement account or a Non-Retirement Account. Each of these 12 Accounts in QW maps 1:1 with a particular TRP Account (each of which has a unique Account Number at TRP).

At this point, in QW, my Investment Account balances match the Account balances at the TRP site.  It's the Transactions/Placeholder things that are mess up.

I also have set up Securities in QW. My questions stem from wanting to download transactions from TRP and have them show up correctly in QW (One Step Update) and the relationships between Investment Accounts in QW vs. Securities in QW.