QWin 2017 Premier: Interest income recorded as Dividend income.

Thomas
Thomas Member
edited January 2019 in Investing (Windows)
I'm new to Premier 2017 this year. My investment account transactions are automatically downloaded into Quicken, but all my Money Market Interest payments are shown in Quicken as Dividends instead of Interest. What do I need to do to show these interest payments as interest?

Comments

• Bob_L
    Bob_L SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2018
    But aren’t they in fact dividends?

Quicken Business & Personal Subscription, Windows 11 Home

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    Money Market Fund payments can be either Interest or Dividends ... depending upon the corporate structure of the fund.

If your Fund Company is downloading them as dividends ... I'd tend to suspect that they're correct.

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• Bobalaska
    Bobalaska Member ✭✭✭
    edited December 2017
    http://www.investopedia.com/ask/answers/060116/are-money-market-dividends-qualified.asp

If a money market mutual fund, they generally pay dividends, just like other mutual funds.
  • Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited October 2018
    In fact I really don't even see why it would matter.
    (I do think everyone is right and they are dividends)

Interest and dividends are taxed in the exact same way with the exception of qualified dividends, which I doubt these are, but even if they were Quicken doesn't do anything different for qualified dividends.  You have to sort them out in your tax program.
  • Vetta
    Vetta Member ✭✭
    edited October 2017
    NotACPA's answer is correct. If they are in a brokerage account they are probably dividends; you can always check that easily enough.
  • Thomas
    Thomas Member
    edited October 2018