Bill Reminder -- non-recurring bills?

I'm using Quicken 2017 for Mac and considering how much money I spent to buy it earlier this year, I have no intention of upgrading to 2018 anytime soon.

My question is is there a way to enter bills as one-time events rather than as recurring ones?

The reason I need this functionality is that I am trying to use Bill Pay in a different way than is intended -- to track not just my incoming bills (actually expenses), but also incoming payments. I'm a freelancer so I get paid random amounts at random intervals. I've figured out that if I put incoming payments in as positive bills and I list all my upcoming bills (expenses) as well, I get the most accurate reflection of my financial situation at any time and I can make sure that upcoming payments are all properly allocated.

This is clunky, but after a certain company (*cough* YNAB *cough*) betrayed its customers and changed the entire methodology of its software, this is the best way I've come up with of tracking my cashflow and allocate income using software meant to track expenditures rather than truly help budget. This is working well for me, but inputting the data is getting to the point of being infuriating because I get the annoying popup asking me to set up the recurring bills and then the data doesn't "take" and I have to reenter multiple times, then delete the recurring occurrences I didn't need in the first place.

Comments

• J_MikeJ_Mike SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    My question is is there a way to enter bills as one-time events rather than as recurring ones?
    Yes - in the existing scheduling dialog, look for the "Ends After"

See Screen Shotimage
    QWin & QMac (Deluxe) Subscription
    Quicken user since 1991

• smayer97smayer97 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2018
    yes you can...see this video:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ex3TthB2xhc&t=232s