vanguard downloaded transactions out to 4-5 decimal points

Pacoinmass
Pacoinmass Member ✭✭
edited November 2018 in Investing (Windows)
I've been putting up with this issue for several years and am now seeking a solution.  I have Vanguard brokerage accounts and 401k accounts that I track in Quicken Premier for Windows 2016.  When I download transactions from Vanguard, many of the transactions come with 4-5 decimal point precision in the Shares field.  This occurs with purchase and with reinvestments in all 8 Vanguard accounts.  Vanguard's statements and transactions available for download through their site however show share balances out to 3 decimal places (XX.YYY for example).  I have been manually rounding up/down transactions to 3 decimal places so that my Quicken accounts match Vanguard's statements.

Note that I do not encounter this issue with other accounts (E-trade, RBC, etc.).  They all download to 3 decimal places.

What could be causing this problem and how can I resolve it?  Thx in advance for the assistance.

Running Quicken Premier for 2016 on Windows 10.

Comments

• Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited January 2018
    Quicken will download what gets sent via the financial institution.  If it's two decimals, three or six, that's what's sent.

Since Vanguard sends shares and prices to six decimals, that's what gets downloaded to Quicken.

And why are you rounding up or down to coincide what's in Quicken?  I would Add Shares or Remove Shares to account for the fractional shares you have mis-entered by only going to three decimals in Quicken.

That way, all future downloads should be correct out to six decimals...as Vanguard reports.  
  • Pacoinmass
    Pacoinmass Member ✭✭
    edited June 2018
    B Hawks,

Thx for the quick reply.  To be clear, I'm rounding
    up/down the incoming downloaded transaction from Vanguard so that my
    Quicken accounts match Vanguard's records (which are only to the 3rd
    decimal place as far as I can tell).