How do I tell if transfers are being detected?

I'm new at this.  I've got Quicken Starter 2018, in a Win10 PC.  I have had transfer detection turned on by default, but I'm seeing transfers seemingly reported as part of my cash flow.  That is, in the "spending by category" graph, I'm seeing Cash Transfers as a separate item, and being included in the total. 

It's my understanding that these transfers shouldn't be counted as part of my cash flow, but be matched between my accounts.  We have 3 chequing accounts and one savings that routinely have money transferred from one to the other, and I need to see if these transfers are being matched properly.  Is there a way of seeing this relationship? 

Meanwhile I've turned off automatic transfer detection so that I will be asked to confirm them, so hopefully this might help.  But it seems there should be a way to see the paired transactions easily, some kind of link.

Comments

• Arctic Hare
    Arctic Hare SuperUser ✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2018
    @Wendy: there is no foolproof solution to downloading and recognizing transfers, but there are things that you can do so that it works correctly most of the time. What you want to happen is to have the categories for all the transfer transactions be Quicken accounts (in square brackets).

I recommend that you enter the transfers in your register either as scheduled transactions or manually entered transfers BEFORE they get downloaded. I have the vast majority of my transfers set up as scheduled transactions. For the few unscheduled ones, I manually use the Quicken transfer feature before downloading from the bank.

My transfers are nearly always automatically recognized and I rarely have issues... and I too have quite a number of transfers.
  • Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited December 2018