Purging 20 years of securities prices?

Unknown
Unknown Member
edited September 2018 in Investing (Windows)
Seeking how to purge approximately 10 years of security prices (dozens and dozens of securities) dating back to 1998.   Presently using Quicken Deluxe 2018 for Windows.  I've been using Microsoft Money and now Quicken for a total of twenty years through multiple upgrades.  Consequently, I've accumulated almost daily historical securities price updates for this entire 20 year period.   I can only guess a database containing hundreds of thousands of daily prices risks a major data corruption issue.  Is there any way to do a mass purge of this data (ie: a ten year range) rather than entering each security individually??   I've done this with transactions for years, but how can I dump all these historical securities prices?

Comments

• Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited July 2018
    This is how I have done it with Quicken 2017 and prior versions.

1. Investing menu
    2. Security List
    3. Select Security
    4. Update menu
    5. Edit Price history
    6. Select top price and use shift key while selecting the bottom of the list to select all (or however many you want to delete)
    7. Delete

Hope this helps!
  • q_lurker
    q_lurker SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2018
    @Tim:  In my opinion, your premise is unfounded.  Personally, I have closing in on 30 years of prices covering some 1000+ securities.  Those are not daily prices on every one but it is still a substantial collection.  That is just an anecdotal justification.