Quicken is assigning old categories. How do I make a default?

Options
I have been using Quicken for nearly 20 years and just updated to 2019 but noticed this problem in the last version as well.  For the most part, it gets categories correct. However, for some payees, I have used multiple categories in the past.  For example, I have Fred Meyer and most of the time I use the grocery category for this.  In the past, I have bought specific things there and may have changed the category (for example about a year ago I bought some things for work and assigned a job reimbursement category).  I only used that a couple times but now every time I have a Fred Meyer transaction, it defaults to the job reimbursement category.  How can I make it default to either the last category I used or the one I use the most (which is almost always groceries)?

Comments

• mshiggins
    mshiggins SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2018
    Options
    QWin or QMac?

Quicken user since Q1999. Currently using QW2017.
    Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited December 2018
    Options
    Win
  • UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2018
    Options
    Dan,
    check your Memorized Payee List.
    Delete any duplicate Fred Meyer entries that point to categories other than Groceries.
    Edit the Fred Meyer - Groceries entry and mark it as "Locked". That will prevent future unplanned changes to the entry.
  • Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited December 2018
    Options
    Great, I will give that a try.  So I notice you can lock more than one category per payee. What would that do?  

So besides groceries, I have used a couple of other categories and will occasionally use them in the future.  If I just leave those and lock groceries, will it always default to groceries but leave the others under the recently used list so I can easily pick them if I want them?
  • mshiggins
    mshiggins SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2020