renaming rules settings for downloaded credit card

Quicken 2019, R17.6 running on Windows 10.  Renaming rules do not work for downloaded transactions from my credit card using Express Web Connect.  Renaming rules do work for downloads from the same credit union for checking account transactions.  Since renaming rules based on the memo field work for the checking downloads but not the credit card downloads, is there a bug in Quicken or some specific setting that needs to be set for the Quicken credit card account? Online support wasn't able to correct the problem, implying there was a file corruption problem.  However Validate indicates the Quicken file is fine.

Any help or pointers is appreciated.  I have been using Quicken for about 20 years but am frustrated is some of the quirky behaviors in the application.

Thanks.

Comments

• UKRUKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭
    edited January 26
    Is there a difference between how you download and accept transactions in your credit card account register vs. the checking account? For example, do you auto-accept most credit card transactions as new vs. using mostly scheduled reminders and/or manually recorded transactions in the checking account?

AFAIK, and unless the programmers haven't made changes that I'm not aware of ... Renaming Rules always work on a concatenation (combination) of Downloaded Payee Name and Memo field. How well these rules work depends on what the downloaded information contains.
    Can you provide some specific examples on where things don't work?
  • LL Member
    edited January 27