Can I budget for Savings (show savings as a budget item) in the Quicken for Mac Budget

HQ
HQ Member ✭✭✭
I'd like to track my Savings account objectives in the Quicken for Mac Budget.  Is that possible?

Best Answer

Answers

• John_in_NC
    John_in_NC SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    edited March 2019
    No, it isn't possible.

You can't budget for savings, nor are there "savings goals" in the Mac version.
  • HQ
    HQ Member ✭✭✭
    Thank you for your feedback.

Is this lack of capability related to Jim's question and the product manager's response below?

If so, I recall as much as a year ago this being described as a capability "top priority".  Now, it's disturbing to hear this functionality is "many months" away.  It doesn't sound like a priority any more. 

I'm not a software engineer so please excuse the simplicity of my question. Does "infrastructure work" mean a fundamental redesign of the product?  Was this capability never envisioned as important such that it is requiring major platform changes?

Like Jim, I have been waiting release after release for what seems like a fundamental capability for personal finance software.. vs changing fonts. 

Quicken
    Marcus

Jim said:
    Every time the New Version of Quicken pop-up appears on my desktop, I get extremely excited...eagerly hopeful that my Mac version of Quicken has finally been updated to track selective account transfers within the budget. Reality eventually sets in. Nope...still a Windows version only feature. Sadness.