IRA Distributions

How do I record an IRA Disribution in Quicken Premier 2019?  I've been using Quicken since 2011 and to this day can't figure out how to correctly record one.  Quicken Help was of no help at all.

Comments

• J_Mike
    J_Mike SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    QWin & QMac (Deluxe) Subscription
    Quicken user since 1991

• Ken MacLeod
    Ken MacLeod Member ✭✭✭
    edited May 2019
    The thread tells me to handle the transaction as a transfer out.  There isn't a transfer out only withdraw and transfer which is what I've been doing.  It would be much better if Quicken had a with draw only and allowed you to record it as an IRA distribution.  Oh well Mike.  Thanks for your speedy reply.
  • NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    A "withdraw to another account" IS a transfer. You're moving money from one account to another.
    Your proposal of "draw only" would be an Expense ... which would reduce your net worth.

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• Ken MacLeod
    Ken MacLeod Member ✭✭✭
    A "Withdraw" would allow you to dedut the transaction as an IRA Distribution the day the withdrawal was made from the account.  Then you can add it to a checking or savings account as a deposit on the day it clears the bank.  What I'm concerned about is the transaction going to appear on my tax transctions report as a withdrawal from my IRA account.
  • J_Mike
    J_Mike SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Ken

One could use the the procedure you describe above - a withdrawal transaction from the IRA and a separate deposit transaction to checking. To complete this process, one would need to create a category; e.g., "IRA Distribution" and assign tax line item "1099-R:Total IRA taxable distrib." to the category. Use this category for the transactions. Quicken will "see" the deposit to checking and include it in the tax reports.