How to enter a spin-off to company that no longer exists in order to maintain cost basis?

I am new to Quicken and am entering transaction history for a stock.  I obtained the stock (call it company "A") through an ESPP in the 1980s.  In the 1990's company "A" spun off a new company "B".  Later, in the 2000s, company B was purchased by company "C".  So company "B" no longer exists.  When I try to add a "Corporate Securities Spin-Off" transaction for "B" from "A", I get a "No shares available for the acquired security" error.  This prevents me from maintaining the cost basis for company "A", and I can't find a way to adjust it manually.  Is there a way to do this?

Comments

• Sherlock
    Sherlock Member ✭✭✭✭
    It sounds like you did not use the correct wizard as no shares available for the acquired security should not apply to Corporate Securities Spin-Off but would apply to Corporate Acquisition (stock for stock).  I suggest you try to select Corporate Securities Spin-Off  again.
  • sotob
    sotob Member ✭✭
    I appreciate your response, Sherlock, and tried again (as I have a number of times in the past week), but carefully making sure I used the correct wizard.  This yielded the same result.  I should add that Quicken support has told me that the spin-off can't be done if the company doesn't now exist, and gave me no work-around.  Assuming this is so (though hoping it's not), this is the reason I asked how I might manually adjust the cost basis of the original stock.
  • Sherlock
    Sherlock Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2019
    sotob said: