IRA Allocation question

I have an IRA that doesn't have shares. My initial purchase has four different indexes. The website shows the percentage value of each one for $70,000 initial purchase and the cash value of each. And the interest rate. My financial person at the bank says I'll be receiving monthly statements. I'm not sure how I should enter this information in Quicken if there are no shares. Thanks!

Best Answers

Answers

• It's a little embarrassing that made my head spin, considering I am a free lance bookkeeper :smile:. You might have to break it down a little more. As for contributions I don't plan on making any for now. Not wanting to relay too much personal information, but I feel good with what my financial adviser has set up for me. I'm just wanting to show whatever I can in Quicken. Thanks!
  • Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    OK, here is more detail. From what you have said, your account does not have a publicly traded security such as a mutual fund so we will create a special security in Quicken to track it and pretend that it is a mutual fund.

-- Go to Tools > Security List and click on Add Security.
    -- Give the new security a name like My IRA that does not match any real security.
    -- Click on the Click Here link at the bottom to create the security manually
    -- Enter the name again as My IRA and set the security type to Mutual Fund, click Next
    -- Specify the asset allocation mix and click OK
    -- Un-check Download asset classes
    -- Click OK

You now have a security in Quicken that you can buy in the IRA account.

-- Set up the IRA account with no initial balance or securities (I assume you know how to do this) 
    -- Go to the account and transfer in the cash from where ever it came from. I think you said $70,000.
    -- Buy 70,000 shares of My IRA, using up the $70,000 in the account.