Product Dissatisfaction (edited)

pccook
pccook Member
I absolutely hate the latest version of this software. I feel I was forced to upgrade (downgrade?). I have been using Quicken for Mac for at least 20 years-most recently Quicken 2007. In the latest version I can no longer perform the most basic functions like hiding a security or transferring money from a brokerage account to my checking account.

Best Answers

Answers

• hkdrmd
    hkdrmd Member
    I must agree with the initial post. Software technology is one thing. Software capability another. I see no reason why some software "engineer" felt compelled to change the capability. A straightforward re-port with all the look and feel of 2007 would have been just fine. Sorry. 2017 is clunk-ware to me.
  • jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    It couldn't just be "ported"; it had to be re-created from scratch. Quicken 2007 used a unique database that can't be replicated, and it drew to the screen using QuickDraw technology that's a decade-plus obsolete, just to name a few issues. Quicken 2007 was the culmination of more than two decades of programming work, and it couldn't be easily re-created. And as is often the case with old software, there are patches on top of patches on top of patches that can be hard to reverse engineer or to determine what a section of code was accomplishing, or even why a particular feature existed.