WHY IS QUICKEN SO SLOW!!!!

I've been using Quicken for over 10 years. Now subscription. PAINFULLY slow. After doing update, you click on one of your brokerage accounts and it goes into "circle of death" where it is spinning and not responding for several minutes on each account (when clicked). Brand new (high machine - it is not my machine)! This is really frustrating. What do I do to optimize so it works? Also, when trying to exit or save, the screen appears to blur some and then locks for several minutes before responsive again. What is going on?

Comments

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

If you haven't rebooted Windows since you installed the latest software update, please do so now and then try Quicken again.

Still not working?

Let's try some "Troubleshooting 101" to ensure the Quicken software is installed and updated properly and that your data file is in good working order.
    Please perform all the steps in this document:
    Troubleshooting 101 - Fixing Software Installation and Data File Problems

• Greg_the_Geek
    Greg_the_Geek SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    What is the path to the folder that contains your Quicken data file? Do you have Controlled Folder Access enabled in Windows Defender? Are you using OneDrive, Dropbox or Google Backup?
    Quicken Subscription HBRP - Windows 10
  • JeffMac
    JeffMac Member ✭✭
    My version is 2020 R24.11 27.1.24.11
    Path to QDF is in my Users/Documents
    Not using OneDrive or other external backup
    Backup file location: C:\ProgramData\Quicken\Backup Data\2019-2020-01-27.QDF-backup
  • UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    JeffMac said:
    Backup file location: C:\ProgramData\Quicken\Backup Data\2019-2020-01-27.QDF-backup

Backup file location ... if your hard drive goes "poof!" you lose both your active Quicken data file and all of your backups. Not good. You should use an external USB hard drive for your important backups.
    Please let us know if Troubleshooting 101 helps resolve your issues, at least somewhat.