I don't get paid in a traditional fashion...how to handle?

corfieldb
corfieldb Member ✭✭
Brand new to Quickbooks [edit: Quicken] and am using the Deluxe version.

I'm a musician who works roughly 35-40 gigs a month. Some places pay me on the day of the event, others send me a check in a few weeks. Every month is different.

Q1: The planning component that I set up last night seems way, way off and under-reporting our income because I don't know how to set it up given my particular situation.

Q2: Over time, as I record the various deposits related to my income, will the planner start to forecast that income?

Thanks for any help you can send my way!

Bill

Comments

• GeoffG
    GeoffG SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Quicken cannot predict unpredictable income streams, which is what you have described. The best hope you have is to manually enter a single amount on the 1st or 15th of the month and estimate on the amount of bookings you anticipate. You can enter this as far out as you anticipate the bookings and amounts. There is no way Quicken can know what how to adjust for your variances.
  • volvogirl
    volvogirl SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Are you using QuickBooks or Quicken?  They are different.

I'm staying on Quicken 2013 Premier for Windows.

• corfieldb
    corfieldb Member ✭✭
    > @volvogirl said:
    > Are you using QuickBooks or Quicken?  They are different.

My bad... I'm using Quicken Deluxe...
  • corfieldb
    corfieldb Member ✭✭
    > @GeoffG said:
    > Quicken cannot predict unpredictable income streams, which is what you have described. The best hope you have is to manually enter a single amount on the 1st or 15th of the month and estimate on the amount of bookings you anticipate. You can enter this as far out as you anticipate the bookings and amounts. There is no way Quicken can know what how to adjust for your variances.