Asset Loan Account not working in Quicken 2020

Hi All, I just upgraded to Quicken 2020 from Quicken 2007. In one of the Quicken 2007 files I had a Loan that was set up as an Asset, so a monthly deposit in the checking account was also entered into this loan account (the loan was $100,000, 15 Years. 7.0%). Worked great, each month the amount of interest paid decreased and the principle amount on each payment increased. BUT when I imported this file into Quicken 2020 it now seems to have the interest and principle inverted. Anyway to fix this? Thanks, Jeff

Best Answer

Answers

• JeffNY
    JeffNY Member
    Hi Jacobs, Thanks for the reply. Uhg.....so Quicken 2007 can do more than Quicken 2020? I've been using Quicken 2007 for 8 years to track this outstanding loan and apply payments (interest & principle) automatically. Somehow I figured this would be an issue with Quicken 2020. But I do really appreciate your reply.
  • jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Yes, there are features from the venerable Quicken 2007 which have not yet been developed in the modern Quicken Mac. There’s ongoing progress, but it’s slower than anyone would wish.

That said, managing a lender loan manually may sound bad, but it’s really minimal work. You can set up a scheduled transaction each month, or just enter one each time you receive a payment. If you’ve printed an amortization schedule (many free web sites will do that for you), then editing the split amounts each month takes only a few seconds. 
    Quicken Mac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • JeffNY
    JeffNY Member
    I believe I can print/save the amortization schedule from Quicken 2007 too. Thanks
  • JeffNY
    JeffNY Member