Quicken 2007 stock price entry limit

I am running for Mac both fully updated Quicken 2007 and a current Quicken subscription on macOS Mojave 10.14.6. There are features of Quicken 2007 I really like for stock price history until I am forced to abandon 2007. I have been entering one stock's price in Quicken since 1997. Today, Quicken 2007 would not accept entering the stock's price unless I remove an entry for the stock from any point in the past. Other stocks with many fewer entries allow a new price entry. Is there a limit to the number of entries for a stock price, and can this be limit be overcome somehow? Thanks much!

Comments

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Quicken 2007 has limits on lots of the tables in its database, as was typical of databases that date back to the 1980s or 90s. I've repeatedly run into a "transaction file is full" message, blocking me from entering another transaction until I delete some from the past. I don't know enough about the inner workings of the Quicken 2007 database to know how stock prices for various stocks are stored, but I think you've laid out the options: delete some of the older entries for that stock which aren't consequential, or perhaps enter them as a separate stock if it will allow that.

There are no magic buttons to push to expand the limits of tables sizes in Quicken 2007. ;)

You could try Save A Copy, which actually re-writes the data file a record at a time into a new file. The new file structure might free up some space that's not available in your existing file (although if it did, I suspect the victory would be short-lived). 
    Quicken Mac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • PershPerson
    PershPerson Member ✭✭
    Thank you very much for your response. I apparently cannot complete the save a copy procedure as I get the attached message.
  • PershPerson
    PershPerson Member ✭✭
    If I click OK with the message the save a copy process stops.

Thanks
  • jacobs