Tax Planner doesn't exclude YTD 401k Employee contributions from AGI

I've been using Quicken for over 25 years and have notified Tech Support several times that the Tax Planner doesn't properly exclude Employee 401K contributions from projected Adjusted Gross Income (AGI). Strange that Quicken has partially fixed this but not completely. Future 401k contributions are now properly being excluded (drilling into Wages detail Red=Future scheduled paychecks). However YTD 401k employee contributions are not shown as negative in YTD detail (blue). In fact they are missing completely. My workaround has been to enter a negative adjustment to wages. Frustrating!

Best Answer

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Hi again @KRFCPA,

I believe that your gut reaction (to make manual TP adjustments) was the best course of action.

Frankx

Quicken Home, Business & Rental Property - Windows 10-Home Version

- - - - Quicken User since 1984 - - - 
      -  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @KRFCPA,

I am not seeing this behavior. On the contrary, myTax Planner is properly deducting employee 401k withholdings from gross wages.  What versions of Quicken and Windows are you using?

Frankx

-  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

• KRFCPA
    KRFCPA Member ✭✭
    Quicken H&B 2020 Subscription-Ver.R28.24. Build 27.1.28.24. Windows 10. Ver.1903. Quicken User since 1995.
  • Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Just wondering - you say that future 401k transactions are being handled properly - Did you change anything about the way you are entering or coding those new entries?

Frankx

• markus1957
    markus1957 SuperUser, Windows Beta Beta